The Women’s Board

Juanita and Henry S. Miller Jr. Founders’ Award

On February 24, 2016, The Women’s Board of the Dallas Opera will present the

24th Annual

Juanita and Henry S. Miller, Jr. Founders Award Luncheon

This highly-anticipated event is held each year to honor a family’s extraordinary commitment to the arts in Dallas.

We are delighted to announce this year’s honorees:

Joanna and Peter Townsend

The Townsend’s are being recognized for their longstanding service and commitment towards The Dallas Opera, including Peter’s service on the Board of Directors for 24 years. During that time he was Treasurer for seven years and Board Chairman in 2013-2014.  Joanna and Peter’s generosity and leadership at The Dallas Opera will be celebrated on Wednesday, February 24th. All proceeds from the event support The Dallas Opera, its productions, and its family education programs, which reach over 25,000 children and adults each year. The luncheon will also feature special music from a member of the Manon cast.  Patrons of the event will be invited to a private reception prior to the luncheon.

Tickets start at $175. For ticket and underwriting opportunities, please click here.

Named for the co-Founders of The Dallas Opera, The Juanita and Henry S. Miller, Jr. Founders’ Award was created in 1991 as a way for The Women’s Board to recognize individuals who have made exceptional volunteer and philanthropic contributions for the benefit of the Opera. A member of the Miller family presents the Award at the much-anticipated annual Founders’ Award Luncheon, attended by approximately 200 people and featuring vocal artists from a current production. Proceeds from the event directly support the Opera’s annual operating budget. This Luncheon has been listed among the top 100 most powerful events in the DFW area.

Past Recipients
1991  Elsa von Seggern
1992  Sis and Plack Carr
1993  Martha and Frank Pitts
1994  Mrs. Bessylee Penland
1995  Margot and Bill Winspear
1996  Mrs. Somers von Behren
1997  Arlene and John Dayton
1998  Mrs. Betty Upton Hudson
2000  Dorothy and Plato Karayanis
2001  Joyce and Harvey Mitchell
2003  Patty and Marty Weiland
2004  Joyce and C.H. Moore
2005  Linda and Bill Custard
2006  Diane and Harold Brierley
2007  Nancy Hamon
2008  Patti and John Cody
2009  Ruben Esquivel
2010  Marnie and Kern Wildenthal
2011  Sara and David Martineau
2013  Joy and Ronald Mankoff
2014  Carol and Don Glendenning
2015  Holly and Tom Mayer


Upcoming Women’s Board Events