TACA’s Silver Cup

by Suzanne Calvin

There are few local awards that could even be said to rival TACA’s annual Silver Cup Award given for contributions to the arts in Dallas.  Introduced by arts advocate and former President and Chairman of TACA, Annette Strauss at a luncheon in 1979; the Silver Cup Award was created to recognize and honor both a man and a woman for their volunteer leadership and contributions to the performing arts.

This year’s honorees are both close to the heart of The Dallas Opera: Geraldine “Tincy” Miller (former Chairman of The Women’s Board of The Dallas Opera) and Dallas Opera Board member Harold M. “Hal” Brierley.

The 31st Annual Silver Cup Award Luncheon, presented by TACA, Chase and Neiman Marcus, was conducted in the Grand Ballroom of the Hilton Anatole Hotel earlier today.  Among those who made remarks were Michelle Thomas, Chairman of the luncheon; Lynn McBee, Chairman of the TACA Board of Directors; and Dallas Mayor Tom Leppert.

The presentations of the Silver Cup were made by 2008 Silver Cup recipients Elaine Agather and Bradd Todd.

Congratulations from all of us at The Dallas Opera!

Suzanne Calvin, Assoc. Dir. of Marketing, The Dallas Opera

Comments are closed.