Institute for Women Conductors

Alba Bomfim


The brazilian conductor Alba Bomfim was the winner of the 2009 Eleazar de Carvalho Prize in Conducting. She participated in masterclasses under the guidance of conductors: Christopher Zimmerman, Kirk Trevor, Colin Metters, Fabio Mechetti, Harold Farberman, Dirk Brossé, John Farrer and Marin Alsop. Mrs. Bomfim has conducted orchestras including: Minas Gerais Philharmonic, Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra, Astoria Symphony, Rose City Chamber Orchestra, Berlin Sinfonieta, Bohuslav Martinu, Orquestra Filarmonia das Beiras, NY Chamber Orchestra and BBC Concert Orchestra. Since 2012 Mrs. Bomfim has worked as adjunct professor in conducting and orchestral activities at the Music Department of Federal University of Piauí (Brasil), and since October 2014 she has excelled as a Ph.D. candidate in Orchestral Conducting Studies at the University of Aveiro under Maestro António Lourenço’s guidance.

2017 Participants


Alba Bomfim


Mélisse Brunet


Lina Gonzalez-Granados


Karin Hendrickson


Carolyn Watson


Monica Wolinska



Marie Bucoy-Calavan


Catherine O’Shaughnessy


Maria Sensi Sellner


Hanah Threlkeld