Board of Directors

The business of the Opera is managed by the Board of Directors, which is comprised of influential community leaders. They have shown their commitment to the Opera by donating at the major gift level. Subject to the approval of the Nominating Committee, they are invited to become members of the Board. The Board of Directors meets five times annually (three times with the Trustees) to receive reports from the working committees, to vote on the annual budget, and to attend to other matters of governance.

Board of Directors Executive Committee

Board Chairman Holly Mayer
Immediate Past Chairman Steve Suellentrop
Vice Chair Mark H. LaRoe
Chairman-Elect Lynn McBee
Vice President – Audit Tassio Carvalho, Ph.D.
Vice President – Development Lynn Mock
Vice President – Nominating Nicholas Even
Vice President – Treasurer Stephen B. L. Penrose
Secretary Nancy A. Nasher
Officer-at-Large Mark Flagg
Officer-at-Large J. Davis Hamlin
Officer-at-Large Deborah G. Hankinson
Officer-at-Large Thomas H. McCasland, Jr.
Officer-at-Large James R. Seitz, Jr.
Officer-at-Large Kern Wildenthal, M.D., Ph.D.
Officer-at-Large Donald Winspear

Board Committee Chairmen and Special Representatives

Chair, The Dallas Opera Foundation Don J. McDermett, Jr.
Chair, Education Committee Susan Geyer
Co-President, The Dallas Opera Guild Jan Clay
Co-President, The Dallas Opera Guild James Clay
President, The Women’s Board of The Dallas Opera Anne Stodghill
Liaison, Office of Cultural Affairs Leland Burk

Board of Directors

  • Martha Allday
  • Michael Baker
  • Alice W. Bass
  • William Blaylock
  • Harold M. Brierley
  • Randall C. Brown
  • Leland Burk (ex officio)
  • Tassio Carvalho, Ph.D.
  • Keith Cerny, Ph.D. (ex officio)
  • James Clay (ex officio)
  • Jan Clay (ex officio)
  • John T. Cody, Jr.
  • Patsy M. Donosky
  • Richard H. Edwards
  • Nicholas Even
  • Amy Faulconer
  • Cindy Feld
  • Mark R. Flagg
  • Antony Francis
  • David Genecov, M.D.
  • Susan Geyer
  • J. Davis Hamlin
  • Deborah G. Hankinson
  • Jack Harrod
  • Linda W. Hart
  • Myra Barker Hull
  • Dianne LaRoe (ex officio)
  • Mark H. LaRoe
  • Joy S. Mankoff
  • Holly Mayer
  • Tom G. Mayer, M.D.
  • Lynn McBee
  • Tom H. McCasland, Jr.
  • Don J. McDermett, Jr.
  • Geraldine “Tincy” Miller
  • Joyce Mitchell
  • Lynn Mock
  • Marla C. Muns
  • Nancy A. Nasher
  • Stephen B. L. Penrose
  • Gene Phillips
  • Michael E. Phillips
  • Martha Rochelle
  • Stephen H. Sands
  • Enika Schulze
  • Richard H. Schulze
  • James R. Seitz, Jr.
  • Brian Shivers
  • Darren Speir
  • Anne Stodghill (ex officio)
  • Betty Suellentrop
  • Steve Suellentrop
  • T. Peter Townsend
  • Sandy Tucker
  • John Ward
  • Martha Wells
  • Kern Wildenthal, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Marnie Wildenthal
  • James E. Wiley, Jr.
  • Donald Winspear
  • Joseph A. I. Worsham